Sushi Night!

IMG_2355

The heat wave has hit the Northwest, and we are all frantically trying to stay cool. My appetite decreased with the 103 degree weather,  and all I crave is watermelon. Recently I learned how to roll sushi, but I am lazy and didn’t have any raw fish in the fridge today (who would on a regular basis?). So I grabbed my cucumbers from the Hillsdale Farmers Market and all I had to add was the rice, sushi powder, nori, carrots and avocado. I used to think that Sushi would be so exotic and hard to make, but my Swedish friend, Camilla, showed me the art, and I would compare it to making a burrito.

This burrito is made with a green tortilla though, and I was impressed that you can just add any veggies that you need to use up (asparagus, sprouts, or even smoked meats and cream cheese).  I found the Sushi powder with some help from a woman in the isle at the Japanese food store. I highly suggest this meal with some wheat-free soy sauce for a easy summer treat!  

Shopping cart: (A perfect store to visit in Portland is Anzen on MLK and Oregon Street)

  • Brown Sushi Rice
  • Powdered  Sushi Flavoring (I like the Bright Yellow Package called Tamanoi Sushinoko)
  • Veggies (carrots, avocado, asparagus, cucumbers….whatever looks fresh and appealing)
  • Raw fish (optional)
  • Nori (the green tortilla part)
  • Sushi mat

Directions:

Start by cooking the rice by following the directions on the package, which is usually 2 c. water and 1 1/2 c. rice.  Bring it to a boil and then cook it covered on low for 20 minutes. While the rice cooks, prepare some vegetables or fish. I slice them thin so they can fit well in the roll. Once the rice is done, mix in the powdered sushi flavoring. Stir it well and lay out the sushi mat on a cutting board.  With a wooden spatula or spoon, spread a layer of the sticky rice on the nori, leaving an edge to fold it. Then add the veggies, roll it up and see the link below if you need more help with the rolling process. Enjoy!

Here’s a great link if you want some photos to help you roll the sushi:

http://sushiday.com/archives/2006/10/26/how-to-roll-maki-sushi/

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

Leave a Reply

