Blueberry, Walnut & Bean Sprout Salad

photo-2

With my summers free, I have more time to tinker around in the kitchen, meander through the stalls at the farmers market, and do domestic projects. A good friend, Elizabeth, inspired me to try my hand at sprouting beans. We laughed about it today as we realized how obsessed we have become with watching the little bean sprouts grow up right before our eyes. I got giddy as I harvested my first crop yesterday and tossed the mung bean sprouts into our spinach salad. Since I have been without a garden plot for over a year, this is the closest I have come to taking veggies out of the backyard for dinner. For those of you lucky enough to be able to tolerate dairy, try adding some blue cheese into the mix.

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 c. fresh blueberries
  • 1 head of spinach
  • 1 c. bean sprouts (see post on “Sprouting your Own Beans“)
  • 3/4 c. walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp. agave nectar (look in the natural foods section)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • sugar (enough to caramelize the walnuts)

Clean the spinach and cut it up into bite size pieces. Add the fresh blueberries and bean sprouts to the spinach. Caramelize the walnuts with the sugar and toss the salad with the olive oil, lemon juice and agave nectar as a dressing. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena

Leave a Reply

