Kristina’s Pizza Dough

We have all scoured the internet, cookbooks and recipe boxes for the best pizza dough recipe, and we all have our opinions of the BEST one around. This recipe was given to me by my cousin, Kristina, and is still my top-rated pizza dough recipe. Growing up, she and her sister were always winning 4-H prizes for their cooking and recipes, while my only knowledge in the kitchen was related to making cookies. “Guetzli” was the first Swiss-German word (meaning cookie) I learned from my Grandmother, and that took much more importance in my cooking education growing up. Luckily, I did learn a few things about making dough, and getting it to work right. Kristina did all the foundation work here, and I got to reap the benefits. I hope it works for you too!

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 package of active dry yeast
  • Cooking Thermometer
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 1 tsp. sugar or honey
  • 2 Tbs. oil
  • 2 1/2 c. gluten-free flour** (see photos below)
  • salt to taste

Dissolve the yeast in 1 cup of warm water that is between 105 and 115 degrees. I like to microwave the water for 40 seconds on high and then wait until it is the right temperature. If it is too hot or too cool, the dough will not rise as well. (or at all!) Once I add the water, I add the sugar right away and let the yeast begin to bubble.

Once the yeast has started to bubble and foam, add it to the flour & salt mixture. Stir in the oil and beat vigorously for 20 strokes. Let rest for 5 min. and preheat the oven to 425 degrees. If you have time, let it rise, but you can bake it right away if you are in a hurry. I have had success with getting spelt to rise well. Completely gluten free flour is a bit more difficult to get to rise, but I still think it is worth a try.

Put a little olive oil and flour on the bottom of the pan and then spread the dough out in a circle. Bake the dough alone first for 10 minutes. Then take it out and add the sauce or pesto and your favorite toppings. Bake 10 more minutes until the crust is not soggy in the middle. This dough freezes well.

minipizza

**I like to substitute Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose baking mix here. I have also tried mixing it with other flours too (sorghum, fava, etc.). Have fun and experiment with your favorite flour mix here.

TIPS FOR DOUGH:

You will notice that if you use a gluten-free flour, the dough will not feel like the right consistency, it will seem sticky and you can’t knead it like normal dough. I recently made a white flour dough for when we had company and it was so fun to feel that stretchy, soft dough in my hands. But, at least we know this sticky dough will turn out to resemble pizza in the end.

dough
spreadingdough I mix the dough with a wooden spoon first in the bowl, and then put I it out on the pan and spread it out as much as I possible (left photo). Once it is spread as far as possible without breaking, I stop and wash my hands and put more oil on them. Once my hands are clean, it is easier to spread. This takes awhile, but it is worth it because if you don’t spread it enough it is too thick. Gluten-free crusts to me taste better when they are thinner.

If you can tolerate spelt flour, I like to add a little so that the dough is not so sticky.

Favorite Cheese Substitute:

cheese

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena

2 responses to “Kristina’s Pizza Dough

  1. Kristina Lavis

    Thanks for giving me the credit for the recipe! You are so kind!…I’m so flattered!
    I am enjoying reading you blog and I will pass it along to my gluten-free patients!

Leave a Reply

