Kale and Cashew Delight

Who ever guessed that kale, that decorative winter leafy green, could be tasty? I don’t really remember eating kale much as a child, perhaps because I was a picky eater. But I do remember that when I started cooking on my own I had no idea what to do with it. I knew it was good for you, but I was embarrassed to admit to others that I didn’t even know where to start with it.

kale

One afternoon I stopped by the food coop on Thurman Street down by 23rd Ave. The deli had a kale salad that was bright and actually looked good. I cheated and bought just a little sample. You know how they print the ingredients out on the label? I went home and tried to recreate their recipe and discovered a very tasty way to make this leafy green (with some variations). My husband was cooking with me and volunteered to add some of his spiced cashews to the mix, and this wonderful salad was created. So, half the credit goes to the People’s Food Coop, and the other half to my husband’s creativity in the kitchen.

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 bunch of fresh kale (any variety will do)
  • 2 grated carrots
  • 1/2 c. – 3/4 c. cashews
  • cinnamon
  • turmeric
  • 1 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 3 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 3 Tbs. lemon juice
  • sea salt to flavor

Kitchen Prep: only 20 minutes

Take the kale leaves and wash them well. Take one leaf at a time and remove the leaves from the bulky stalk that runs down the middle of the leaf. You can do this with a large knife by turning the leaf on its backside and cutting along the edge of the thick stalk. Then chop the leaves into bite size pieces.

kale1

Put the coconut oil in a pan and spread it around. Add the washed kale and heat it on medium/low heat until it turns a bright green and is a softer texture. Notice the before and after and how it shrinks down here:

kale2
kale3While you are waiting for the kale to cook down, stir it and keep turning it in the pan. I usually have to do the kale in two batches, since my cast-iron pan isn’t large enough for it all.

Next take the cashews and chop them into small pieces. Take a smaller sauce pan and add the cashews, a dash of cinnamon, tumeric, salt and pepper and heat them over medium/low heat (about a 4).

Once the kale has cooled down, add the lemon juice and soy sauce as dressing, and mix in the nuts. Shred the carrots and mix it in. (In these photos I forgot to use carrots this time, so it isn’t as colorful and bright).

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena

Leave a Reply

