“Yumm Bowls” for Holiday Company

One of my favorite restaurants in Oregon is Cafe Yumm, one of the best spots for gluten-free vegetarian cuisine. This local buisness that has been around for 30 years now sells their sauce in the grocery store. Using the sauce makes a perfect quick meal for when you host company during the holidays.  My mom and I recently made our own “Yumm Bowls” while hosting family, which consists of a bowl filled with rice, beans, the sauce and all the fixings pictured here.

If you aren’t here in the Northwest and can’t find the sauce, my mom’s friend, Lisa, gave her the recipe to try the sauce at home. I have not tried this recipe yet, so let me know if it works for you.

Build the bowl with layers starting with:

  • brown rice or jasmine rice (we added in wild rice too)
  • black beans
  • soy beans (edamame)
  • grated cheese
  • olives
  • tomatoes
  • avocado
  • sour cream
  • “Yumm Sauce”
  • Nori (we left this out and it was fine)

Recipe for “Pretty Close” Yumm Sauce

Shopping Cart:

  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup soybeans
  • 1/3 cup drained garbanzo beans

Blend these ingredients in a food processor. (I guess I’ll use my blender because I don’t have one). Add:

  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 heaping tsp. curry
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Then blend and add 1/3 cup of nutritional yeast. Hadd a 1/2 cup of lemon juice and up to a half cup of water until desired consistency. Puree until smooth.

Thank you to the owners of this wonderful franchise for a great way to eat healthy when you are pressed for time! Check out their blog here: Cafe Yumm’s Blog

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo, Restaurants

2 responses to ““Yumm Bowls” for Holiday Company

  1. stefmeyer

    Yumm, yumm! You do such an amazing job with your blog.

  2. I am definitely going to try that recipe! I’ve been searching for a close second and have come up with my own version too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

