Rice and Leek Comfort Soup

I took out the last stalk of leek from my fridge and sliced into it to see if it was still fresh from a trip I made to the farmers market a few weeks back. It still smelled like fresh dirt and I was amazed at how much better it smelled than the green onions I got from the grocery store just that morning. It made me think of the woman who sold it to me who told me that they have been growing all their winter produce in their greenhouse on their farm in Junction City. Thank goodness for greenhouses! It reminded me that one of my new years resolutions for 2010 will be to join a  CSA. If you don’t know about this cool way to buy local, click on the link above, type in your zip code and find a farm near you…

Inventing soups is my favorite way to use up produce before I take off for vacation or am just trying to clean out the fridge. This recipe is one of those inventions that hit the spot and made my top 10 comfort foods for winter. I hope you can cozy up to a good bowl of soup and enjoy the fact that the days ARE getting longer now. Happy Solstice!

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 stalk of leek
  • 1/2 bunch of green onions
  • 1/2 block of tofu sliced into cubes
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/8 cup wheat-free soy sauce (tamari)
  • 3-4 cups of vegetable stock
  • brown rice or rice noodles
  • sesame oil

Heat up a frying pan on medium heat and add enough sesame oil to coat the bottom of the pan. Fry up the tofu cubes while you dice the leek and green onions into small pieces. Turn the tofu so it is lightly browned on all sides. This may take about 15-20 min. depending on how brown you like it. Once it is browned, add in the nutritional yeast and soy sauce. Mix it in well and then add the green onions and leek. It’s okay if the tofu gets a little crumbly, it depends on how firm your tofu was when you started.

I love the firm tofu, and the best is the stuff that comes already fried from Sunrise Asian Food Market. in Eugene or Anzens in Portland. Once cooked, add the mixture to the vegetable broth (or chicken broth for the non-vegetarian). Add in your favorite rice noodles or leftover rice. I added in little rice triangles that I found at Sunrise food market. They were hard to fit into the spoon but were fun and made it necessary to slurp. Enjoy and happy holidays!

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

2 responses to “Rice and Leek Comfort Soup

  1. Julie

    You should post your recipie for your celery soup! Its a great winter dinner.

  2. Julie

    You should also post your recipie for celery soup!

Leave a Reply

