Berry Crisp Delights

Even though the holidays are over and there is always a bit of letdown when all the festivities are over, I can look forward to the start of a brand new calendar year. I kept my resolutions simple this year:

1. Shop and eat locally–trying to eat what is in season(I was getting a bit lazy).

2. Plant my own garden this spring.

3. Join a CSA.

4. Write my grandparents more often.

The gym was packed today with other people optimistic with a new start, and I was inspired to publish this recipe that was a bit more local than previous posts. I have been craving all the berries that ripen in June and July: strawberries, cherries, blackberries, etc. So, in an effort to boost my vitamin C levels, I took out the last pint of the berries I froze this summer. I decided I had to do something very special with them, and this is what came about:

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 bag or 2 pints of frozen fruit (blackberries, blueberries, peaches, etc.)
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup gluten free four mix (I used featherlight mix)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 3 Tbs. honey or sweetener
  • 2 Tbs. butter
  • agave nectar to sweeten

Choose a fruit and defrost it from the freezer. Mix all the dry ingredients as you melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the butter and applesauce to the dry mixture and stir until it is well blended. Put paper cupcake holders in a muffin pan and fill them 3/4 of the way full with defrosted fruit mixture (or fresh fruit). Try to avoid putting the fruit juice in the cup since it soaks through the paper. Divide the crust mixture evenly among the 12 muffin cups.

Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes. Let cool and serve in the muffin papers. Use a spoon to scoop out the berries and enjoy!

I topped mine with a little extra agave nectar to sweeten them since the fruit didn’t have any added sugar. These keep well in the fridge for a few days and you can serve them with whipped cream or yogurt for dessert, or as a breakfast treat.

Happy New Year! What are your resolutions?

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast Menu: Desayuno, Dessert Menu: Postre

One response to “Berry Crisp Delights

  1. Julie

    Too bad I ate all my frozen berries during the summertime when I was pregnant. Hopefully next year they last longer!

Leave a Reply

