Pad See Yew Success!

I finally did it!

I have attempted to make my favorite Thai food dish about six times over the past few years and failed quite a few times. I can never seem to recreate that same taste that my husband and I have sampled at so many restaurants (and even at our wedding feast!). But, today I give credit to my cousin, who chatted with me on the phone as I assembled this dish. She must have good cooking karma, since I finally tasted sweet success. I also finally got the right noodles: fresh ones instead of dried, which made all the difference.

I just followed the steps on this e-how website after a quick trip to the Asian Foods Market:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2139682_make-pad-see-yew.html

Shopping Cart:

  • 6 Tbs. Wheat free Tamari (Soy) Sauce
  • 2 Tbs. Oyster Sauce (read ingredients to avoid the high fructose corn syrup)
  • 2 Tbs. sugar (I splurged with the white stuff but next time I’ll try agave)
  • 1 egg
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • Fried Tofu (available in the refrigerated section of most Asian food markets)
  • Fresh Widely Cut Rice Noodles (not dried, but refrigerated and freshly made)
  • white pepper (I just used regular)

Mix the soy sauce, oyster sauce and sugar into a bowl and set aside. Chop the broccoli into florets and you can even include the leaves if you want to. Chop the tofu and set aside.

The noodles I bought were not pre-cut, it was a large slab of rice noodle that I cut into wide strips, about 3 inches wide. They were all stuck together in the package and I just kept them like that until they were warm enough in the frying pan to separate on their own.

Scramble one egg in a smaller frying pan an set aside for the end. Chop the 4 cloves of garlic and then add to a large skillet, wok, or cast iron pan once you have warmed up a few Tbs. of oil on medium-high heat.

Saute the garlic and then add the tofu. The tofu if pre-fried does not need to cook a long time. Then add the noodles in. They will soften as they warm up, so don’t move them around too much until they are soft or they will break. At this stage I realized I had too many ingredients to fit into my cast iron, so I did it in TWO frying pans. This makes enough for 5 or 6 healthy sized portions!! It saves well and I plan on indulging again for dinner (or breakfast).

Add the soy sauce mixture and stir. Finally add the broccoli and let it cook before you add the egg and pepper. Serve and enjoy!

**A note about rice noodles: According to some of my research, some rice noodles contain wheat starch and this MAY contain small traces of gluten. So, read the labels and be careful if you have celiacs disease. I could only find noodles with a bit of wheat starch and I was not affected by it.

Enjoy and Buen Provecho!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

One response to “Pad See Yew Success!

  1. Kristina Lavis

    I’m glad it turned out! It looks amazing!! Wow! Thanks for your kind words! I’m glad that I could be a part of the experience!

Leave a Reply

