The Challenge: 100 Seasonal Recipes by Summer

I don’t know about you, but I am ready for summer. I am ready to live in my swim suit, put the puffy coat in storage, get some sun and go pick fresh berries. I am tired of these grey, rainy, Oregon February days.  I have the winter blues and I need a good challenge.

My husband actually put me up to the challenge in January right after the new year. I wimped out at first and thought, “No, this would be too hard because I would get tired of eating kale and kohlrabi”. But in order to prove I can do it, get more educated about foods that are in season, and write to the NORTHWEST part of my blog title, I will embark on something difficult in order to overcome these winter woes. I won’t have time to complain, because I will be digging through magazines, cookbooks and websites. Before I know it, summer will be here…

Here is the challenge:

    100 recipes by June 21st, the summer solstice

Rules I have invented:

1. These recipes can be invented by me or borrowed from other sources

2. The ingredients must be something that is in season (or stored in a root cellar)

3. They must be local (from Oregon or Washington, since I like apples)

I do not aspire to be like Barbara Kingsolver and live entirely off the land for a year (even though that would be fun to try if I had a house and a yard). But, I am in a rental house with a tiny lot in the woods, and my gardening skills first need to improve.

I do want to be a farmer. I know it is a romantic notion that others have done in order to truly live with less of an environmental footprint. Eating locally or growing your own food has been touted as even more eco-friendly than eating organic, because the food is not traveling as far to get to the table. But, I don’t have that option now and I imagine many of you don’t either. Although, on a side note I just finished reading: Food, Not Lawns, which I highly recommend. We could all do our part in growing more food at home.  I am now motivated to grow some things in container gardens on my porch (more on that later). But if I can’t grow it all myself, then I will get to know who is growing my food.

But back to the challenge. I must find 100 ways to use local and SEASONAL ingredients.  I have 137 days, and by June 21st, I will feature the top 10 recipes and put them on the menu at my celebratory summer solstice party! (I will attempt to add a voting feature to this blog so you can vote for your favorites come early June.) I will also take any suggestions for recipes to try out if you are feeling up to helping me meet my goal.

Meanwhile, I will work on finding my source: a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) farm. Once I find a good source of veggies and local produce, I hope to get to know my farmer. I plan on attending the “That’s My Farmer” Event here on April 14th in Eugene. Hope to see you there and wish me luck.

1 Comment

Filed under Weekend Projects

One response to “The Challenge: 100 Seasonal Recipes by Summer

  1. Julie

    Good challenge. Hopefully we can do some canning this summer although it will be more difficult this year with two babies underfoot!

Leave a Reply

