Trial and Error: # 3 of 100

Since I picked up my first order of food from the Eugene Local Foods Stand at Mazzi’s Pizza, I have gone through some experimentation. My first recipe I tried was a complete disaster, and after one bite of the spinach soup that used up my whole precious supply of greens, I had to throw it out. It looked like baby food watered down. My dear husband spiced his up with hot sauce but I couldn’t stomach it. I won’t quote the book where I found that recipe. I realized I needed to find the right cookbook.

I stumbled upon this book, Eating Close to Home: A Guide to Local Seasonal Sustenance in the Pacific Northwest. PERFECT. Someone who understands how hard it is to liven up the menu with winter vegetables!!

So after a lot of trial and error on my own, which contributed to a dryspell of posts in the past few weeks, I am back on track with the help of Elin Kristina England, the author of this new godsend.

I can now happily report that on a lazy, rainy day I have come up with a tasty way to make cabbage that didn’t take long at all. I ate it all alone, but I would imagine it would taste good along side some good grilled fish or corn enchiladas.

# 3: Cabbage and Apple Salad

adapted from Eating Close to Home

Shopping Cart:

  • 1/2 head of green cabbage (I used red though)
  • 1 crispy apple, coarsely grated or chopped
  • 1-2 TBS. lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. sugar

Chop the cabbage thinly and and peel the apple. Grate the apple and add to the cabbage. Mix the lemon juice and sugar as a dressing and toss.

The original recipe calls for 1/2 c. of roasted nuts (walnuts, hazelnuts or almonds). It also mentions that you can add 3/4 c. of yogurt and a pinch of nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice to the dressing. I chose to do it simply today, but you could try adding the rest of these ingredients. Thanks, Elin for this great recipe!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

One response to “Trial and Error: # 3 of 100

  1. Amy

    Thanks for shopping with us. It’s great to see how you are using some of the ingredients. We agree – Elin’s cookbook is awesome!

Leave a Reply

