#4: Lentils with Butter and Parsley

The pages of Elin England’s Book, Eating Close to Home are already starting to get food stains on them, little signs that it is becoming one of my well-loved cookbooks. I hope she doesn’t mind that I am sharing this recipe which she adapted from The Classic Italian Cookbook by Julia Della Croce. But, this is now my favorite way to use up parsley from the garden or from your CSA box. We ate them with corn tortillas and the leftover cabbage apple salad, which was a great combination!

Shopping Cart:

  • 1/2 lb. (1 and 1/2 cups) of lentils (I used green but she calls for brown)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 small bunch of parsley stems tied together
  • 3 large garlic cloves cut in half
  • 3 Tbs. softened butter
  • juice of 1/2  a lemon
  • 3 Tbs. finely chopped parsley (this smells so good!)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Take the butter out of the fridge to soften. Add the lentils, 4 cups of water, garlic cloves, bay leaf and parsley stems to a saucepan. Bring it all to a boil and then simmer for 25 min. until the lentils are soft. Drain them when done and take out the parsley stems, bay leaf and garlic cloves.

Mix the softened butter, lemon juice and chopped parsley into a paste. Add it to the hot lentils and watch it melt away…yum!! Season it with salt and pepper and serve. This made enough for my husband and I for 2 big meals!

Now, local lentils are hard to find and I have not yet discovered a place to buy them from the Northwest. But, as a vegetarian, they are a must and should be a staple in a vegetarian diet. I have found local butter and garlic but am waiting for my dream house where I can construct my greenhouse to grow my own lemons. Until then, I cheated a little on this recipe, since not ALL the ingredients are from the area. I consider lemon juice a staple in my fridge though and try to buy them from the US.

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

4 responses to “#4: Lentils with Butter and Parsley

  1. Elin England

    Hey there! Glad to see you like this recipe, and I am so glad you are sharing it. There are some farmers up the valley who are working on growing lentils, so take heart, they may be available locally sometime soon.

    • stefmeyer

      Hi Elin,

      Thanks! Your book has been so inspiring and I am so happy that you might know of some farmers who are growing lentils. If you find out, let me know, because I will make sure to support them! Congrats on such a wonderful book, I am telling people about it all the time. Enjoy this spring weather, I was happy to see that my CSA will have rhubarb this week…nice weather is finally coming. Are you working on a second book yet?
      Stephanie

      • Elin England

        Stephanie: I know that the folks at Stalford Farms are growing them. Last year was a bad year for bean growers in the valley, so I don’t think they had any to sell, but keep your fingers crossed for this year. I am noodling around with ideas for a second book but my fingers have not yet hit the keyboard with anything as yet. I’m sure it will happen at some point, though! I don’t know where you are located, but I will be speaking in Brownsville at one of their “Munch Nights” this Friday 4/16, starting at 6:00 at the Bramble House Inn. If you are interested, email me directly at eengland@uoregon.edu for more info. Happy meals!

      • stefmeyer

        Good to know! I have plans Friday so I am sorry I will miss it, but keep me posted if you speak in Eugene sometime soon. Glad to hear you might do a 2nd book, I’ll sure continue to spread the word about your great recipes. I am going to try your enchiladas this week! Enjoy this sun…

Leave a Reply

