#5: Turnip (or Parsnip) Puff Casserole

I have searched for the past few days for a recipe that uses turnips that sounds the least bit appetizing. I have never been a bit fan of this root veggie. But I suspected I just didn’t know how to use it. I found this recipe online at “Abby’s Kitchen” and  when this dish was in the oven I got online to look at my CSA order. I hate to admit that I was right: not only did I not know how to use it, but I got confused and was cooking with parsnips, not turnips! Oops…shows you how familiar I am with these root vegetables. (Honestly, the only time I had ever used parsnips was in a soup recipe.) So here’s some photos to ensure you don’t make the same mistake.

Here are parsnips, a root veggie very closely related to the carrot.

While searching for images of parsnips I even found a recipe for parsnip and maple cake. It guess it doesn’t sound so weird if you consider that we make cake with carrots!

http://whatdoiknow.typepad.com/recipes/2009/11/parsnip-and-maple-cake.html

Turnips have the purple tops…now I won’t ever confuse them.

Here is my finished product, and I got the thumbs up from my hubby…

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 pound turnips (4 medium) or parsnips
  • 2 tablespoons Butter
  • 3 tablespoons gluten free bread crumbs
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 tablespoon snipped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped onion

Peel and cube turnips to make 3 cups. Cook covered in small amount of water until tender. Drain. Add butter and mash. In bowl, combine eggs, bread crumbs, onion, sugar, salt and lemon juice. Add mashed turnips and mix well. Turn mixture into 1 quart casserole and bake uncovered at 375° until set. About 25-30 minutes. Makes 4 servings.

Source: http://www.abbyskitchen.co.uk

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena

Leave a Reply

