#8: Omega Oatmeal Breakfast

Recently I visited my brother who is a family practice doctor. He is always looking out for his older sister, and when I proudly told him I was eating oatmeal for breakfast almost every morning, he told me I needed to add some protein to the mix. He said it will give me more energy and some essential Omega 3s. I went home and decided to make a crunchy topping to add to my Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats.

Walnuts can be purchased locally and the oats are processed right in Milwauke, Oregon. I found I could make this breakfast a lot quicker in the morning by preparing my topping ahead of time.

In a mason jar combine:

  • chopped walnuts
  • cinnamon
  • ground flax seed (also available at Bob’s Red Mill)
  • nutmeg

Then, when you prepare your oatmeal, all you need to do is pour this crunchy topping over your oats and add a sweetener like agave nectar, brown rice syrup or maple syrup!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast Menu: Desayuno

Leave a Reply

