#11: Salmon Beet Salad

I can’t believe how long it has been since I have created something new in the kitchen. With family visiting for the past week, I reverted to familiar territory and didn’t try any new recipes or creations. I take that back; when my mother in law was here I had one of the most embarrassing cooking mistakes ever! I had taken out two containers of potato leek soup from the freezer (or so I thought). One container was actually leftover waffle mix, which I discovered as I took a taste of the strangely textured soup.  I learned my lesson that I need to start labeling all my leftovers. 🙂 Just today things seemed to go back to normal and I had the chance to experiment a little–with some success!

When I was out in West Eugene the other day I discovered a new place that sells salmon and smokes it right on location: Oregon Lox Company. If you are ever on your way to the beach it is right off of West 11th headed toward the coast. I bought their “original” smoked flavor and had it with cheese and Nut Thins the other night. Today we had a bunch of leftovers and I created a yummy salad with some butter leaf lettuce, what a treat!

Shopping Cart:

  • 1/2 a head of butter leaf lettuce
  • diced beets
  • smoked salmon
  • diced swiss cheese
  • diced carrots
  • avocado slices
  • diced red onion
  • 2 Tbs. plain Nancy’s Yogurt
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. dill

Toss all ingredients together except for the last four: mix the yogurt, lemon juice, sugar and dill in a bowl. I have no idea if this is a valid salad dressing “recipe”, but I just put together these four ingredients and tossed my salad. I was wanting a creamy type of dressing today and it didn’t taste too bad. Anyone out there know of a better idea for a lemon/dill dressing?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo

Leave a Reply

