#13: Dairy-Free Caesar Dressing

I got a beautiful head of romaine lettuce this week from Eugene Local Foods. I had a craving for Caesar salad, but I am avoiding dairy and raw eggs. This turned out pretty tasty, so much so that I forgot to take a photo. In fact, most of the creations I have made this week have disappeared to quickly to blog about, so I need to make them again and photograph them all. Coming soon…rhubarb crisp, Kale salad and gluten-free cinnamon rolls!
Shopping Cart:
  • 1/2 c Soy milk
  • 1/4 c Dairy-free mayonnaise
  • 1 Garlic clove; quartered
  • 1.5 TBS Fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 Tbs Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 ts Blackstrap molasses (I substituted agave)
  • 1/2 ts Cider vinegar
  • Salt and pepper

Place the ingredients in a blender and cover. Blend on high speed for 20 seconds, stopping once to scrape down the sides, using a rubber spatula. Taste and adjust the balance of seasonings. Look for Nayonnaise at natural food stores. I took the recipe from CLAIRES CLASSIC AMERICAN VEGETARIAN COOKING, by Claire Criscuolo and cut it in half. (1997: Dutton)

Toss the dressing with romaine lettuce and sprinkle some grated parmesean on top. I added some fresh purple carrots from the CSA order and it was delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Lunch Menu: Almuerzo, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

