#14: Barbecue Tofu Skewers

There are not many things in my life that I start and don’t finish, but my goal of 100 recipes by Summer Solstice was interrupted by a few life changes: a new baby boy, a new job for my husband and a move to a new city. Maybe next summer solstice I can have that goal accomplished. 🙂

After living in a bit of a daze for the past month, I have not had a great interest in cooking. My friends warned me of this side effect to being a new mom, but I didn’t believe them. I thought to myself: ‘Sure, I’ll just cook with the baby strapped on to me in the baby carrier.’ Problem is, by the time he was 2 weeks old he weighed more than a bag of groceries, and I found it hard to cook while toting that around.

Now that he is mastering the art of taking naps, I have some moments to myself again and I am inspired to continue my blog even though I am no longer in the NW. I splurged on my last visit to Cafe Yumm before leaving Eugene and moving down to Mountain View, California. I tried something new: Tofu Skewers. Wow, what have I been missing!

I looked for a recipe for barbecue sauce and adapted this from the  internet.

Shopping Cart:

  • tofu cubes and wood skewers

  • Sauce:
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 3 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbs. mustard
  • 2 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
  • 3 Tbs. brown sugar or honey
  • 1 Tbs. lemon juice
  • grated ginger to taste

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Simmer until thick and use as a barbecue sauce for your tofu skewers. Enjoy!


3 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena, Uncategorized

3 responses to “#14: Barbecue Tofu Skewers

  1. Julie

    That’s funny. I was looking for a pop off recipe for the Cafe Yumm BBQ tofu skewers because I live 80 miles from the nearest restaurant. This was the only one I found – and then I noticed you are a gluten-free resource site. Eighteen years ago when I was researching online for ANYTHING gluten-free (as my then 4 year old was diagnosed celiac) there were only 8 websites. Seven were technical research papers! But anyway……..
    My question is: Okay those are the ingredients but HOW DO YOU BAKE or BBQ the skewers?? I am having no luck at all making them chewy and good. Thanks.

    • stefmeyer

      Hello Julie,

      Thanks for the heads up! That is bad news, I guess I just assumed they were gluten free and I didn’t ask. It is amazing how it hides in so many foods without us knowing. In terms of how to bake them, I use the firmest tofu I can find. Starting with a softer tofu will just turn out to be a crumbly mess. Wildwood makes a nice firm tofu. I like to use whatever is local, or even the fried kind from the Asian food market, which would guarantee a chewy texture.

      Then I cube the tofu and then marinade the cubes with the BBQ sauce for a few hours in the refrigerator. When it is time to cook them I put the cubes on the sticks for the skewers and then transfer them to some tin foil. I bring the foil out to the BBQ and put the skewer on the grill alone and turn them every 5-10 minutes until each side is done. As I turn them on the grill, I use a pastry brush to re-apply the BBQ sauce as they dry out. When you are done, you can keep them in a warm oven until you are ready to serve them. I hope this helps! -steph

  2. Julie

    I continued looking online for the actual recipe and it seems that the BBQ skewers from Cafe Yumm are NOT gluten-free. They use KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce and cook them off site. oops! (according to a happy employee) I will try your recipe. Thanks.

    I still want to find out how they make them chewy.

Leave a Reply

