# 15: Leslie’s Peach Pie with Teff Crust

My first attempt to make something in season down here in California was a success! I moved into a townhouse where there are common areas that have peach and lemon trees, with fruit for the taking. My neighbor picked some peaches for me, and after I found this new cookbook at the local bookstore I was inspired to make this summer dessert.

Gluten-Free Recipes for the Conscious Cook by Leslie Cerier has some spectacular uses for the flours I have acquired in my pantry that I am still getting to know. When I emailed her to see if I could post this recipe she was kind enough to let me put it on this blog. I was so happy at how the crust turned out I made the same pie two days later. I tried putting it in smaller pie tins and cooking it a little less time. It tasted heavenly with some Coconut Bliss ice cream….which made me miss Eugene.

Shopping Cart:

Crust:

  • 2 cups Teff flour
  • 1/2 cup melted extra virgin coconut oil (or butter)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 TBs. vanilla extract
  • 1/ 2 teaspoon sea salt

Filling:

  • 5 ripe peaches thinly sliced
  • 1 TBs. maple sugar or date sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 and lightly oil a 9 inch pie pan. Combine the teff flour, oil, maple syrup, vanilla and salt in a medium size bowl for the crust. Stir until well combined. Reserve 1/2 cup of the mixture to use as a crumb topping. (I forgot to do this and I just didn’t have a top).

Transfer the dough to the pie pan and press an even layer over the bottom and sides of the pan. Use a fork to poke a few holes in the dough and bake for 10 min until it looses its shine.

Put the peaches in the baked pie crust and sprinkle the maple sugar and cinnamon over the peaches. Crumble the reserved dough over the peaches and bake for 10 more minutes. Let cool 30 min. before serving.

Thank you, Leslie for this recipe and the great new book for Gluten Free cooks!! Check out her website for cooking classes and more books…

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert Menu: Postre

Leave a Reply

