#17: Mom’s Sweet Potato Casserole

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. It’s all about family, friends and eating good food. It is not as commercialized as other holidays. Decorations are from the garden and my husband and I look forward to the desserts all month. I must admit that I have never made my own Thanksgiving dinner because it is always done by Mom or Aunt Monica. This year I am going to try and make my first Thanksgiving meal on my own: gluten free and vegetarian! My goal is to adapt the traditional family recipes into gluten-free dishes.  Since I am making baby food with sweet potatoes this week, I am going to start with Mom’s Sweet Potato Casserole. I used up some of the potatoes for baby food so I added the squash for fun!

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 1/2 Cups mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 1/2 Cups Kabocha squash
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. molasses
  • ¼ cup soy milk
  • 1 Tbs. butter

Topping:

  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1-2 Tbs. agave syrup or maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Put the sweet potatoes  and squash (cut in halves) on a baking sheet and pierce each potato 2 or 3 times with a fork. Bake for 45 to 60 minutes or until tender. Set aside to cool.

Turn the oven down to 350 degrees F. Scoop the sweet potatoes and squash out of their skins and into a medium bowl. Discard the skins and mash the potatoes until smooth. Add the eggs, butter, vanilla, molasses,  and soy milk. Whisk the mixture until smooth.

Butter an 8 by 8-inch casserole. Pour the sweet potato mixture into the pan and sprinkle with the pecan topping. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes. Drizzle the agave or maple syrup over the top and let cool.

Mom’s Original Recipe: (for those who want the gluten version)

  • 3 Cups mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • ¼ Cup Milk
  • ½ Cup butter

Mix ingredients.  Pour into buttered casserole. Crumble on top:

  • 1 Cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 Cup flour
  • 1 Cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 Cup butter

Bake 30 min. at 350.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu: Cena

Leave a Reply

