Great-Grandma’s Peanut Butter Fudge

I am finally going to post this all-time favorite family recipe that has been in draft form for over a year. The picture will come later because I gave it all away to my neighbor before I remembered to photograph it. I hope it will save my mom time because every year I know she gets a phone call from each of her kids to re-dictate this recipe that defines the holidays for our taste buds. I hesitate to post it because I have not mastered it to where it works 100% of the times that I make it. But, after a successful attempt this weekend, I am going to put the first draft out there, and see if any fudge experts have advice for our family recipe that has been passed down for 3 generations. Thank you Great-Grandma, Hazel.

Shopping Cart:

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 small box of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 small jar of creamy peanut butter (not the natural kind you stir)

Caution: Have all the ingredients ready to go before you start, because once you start you need to be constantly stirring so the fudge does not stick to the pan and burn!! Slowly melt the butter in a saucepan and add sweetened condensed milk while stirring. Once the butter is melted, stir in the brown sugar and vanilla. Bring the mixture to a slow boil.  Now here comes the tricky part. You need to get this goopy mess to become the perfect consistency and temperature. I don’t know the exact temperature, but when you taste it you should NOT taste the little granules of sugar. Once you don’t taste the sugar, that is the moment to remove the mixture from the heat and slowly stir in the peanut butter. Once all the peanut butter is added, then pour the mixture into your pan to cool. This refrigerates well and I even froze mine (which my mom said was unnecessary since it can last a long time in the fridge.) Good Luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert Menu: Postre

Leave a Reply

