Mini Carrot Muffins

This morning I was able to get out into my garden and dig around while my son carried around a single sprig of lavender for about an hour, content and amused. I am ready for Easter Sunday since I have been spending my evenings searching for the perfect meal to serve to my guests from the East Coast. Thank you, Elena, for your inspiration! Elena’s Menu does not include these muffins, but I adapted her mini carrot muffin recipe and decided to serve them on Sunday.  I made them for a friend’s son who turned one and they were gone before I could take out my camera.  Not only are they gluten free, but  they are a little healthier for babies because I used brown rice syrup for sweetener and applesauce instead of oil. These would be perfect for a brunch, appetizers or snacks for little ones. By the way, my menu is on the way…

Shopping Cart:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1 tbs. vanilla
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/4 cup raisins
Mix all dry ingredients and set aside. Then blend the eggs, applesauce, brown rice syrup and vanilla. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and then stir in the carrots and raisins. Line a mini muffin tin with cupcake liners and drop in about 1 Tbs. of batter. Bake at 350 for 17-20 minutes (mine took 19 min.). Thank you Elena!! I used Nutella for frosting, but am working on a tofu spread this week that I will add later if it works.

http://www.elanaspantry.com/carrot-muffins-with-coconut-flour/

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast Menu: Desayuno, Dessert Menu: Postre, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

