Non-dairy Mac and Cheese

With 10 days left until my 2nd child enters the world, lately I have resorted to some shortcuts that I am not proud of; most specifically the mac and cheese that comes in an box and envelope. I know it isn’t the worst food for a toddler, but I don’t want my son to get used to the bright orange color and salty flavor as a standard choice for his weekday meals.

Today after a trip to the farmers market we had a hungry child and a lot of veggie prep to finish, so I needed another quick meal. I had been looking at this recipe for awhile and decided to tackle it. It was a hit! I didn’t have all the ingredients, so my version below is a slight adaptation from the “Epicurean Vegan” site. She has some good tips about baking it that you should check out. She also has great photos, which I don’t have time to post now. Thank you for your tasty, and quick recipe.

http://epicureanvegan.com/2010/05/23/creamy-macaroni-and-cashew-cheese/

Shopping Cart:

1 1/2 cups cashews
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper

3 cups non-dairy milk (unsweetened almond, soy or coconut)
3 Tbs. cornstarch
1/4 cup canola oil
2 Tbs. Lemon juice

Gluten-free pasta (I like the quinoa elbows from Whole Foods)

Put the cashews in the largest-sized bowl of the food processor and finely grind. Don’t let the cashews turn to a paste. Add nutritional yeast, salt, garlic powder, and pepper. Then pulse a few times to mix in the spices.

In a saucepan, combine the non-dairy milk, cornstarch and oil.

“Bring to a simmer over high heat. Decrease heat to low-medium, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally for 10 minutes, or until cornstarch dissolves. With the food processor running, gradually add milk/oil mixture to cashew/nutritional yeast mixture. Blend for 2 minutes or until smooth and creamy. Next blend in miso and lemon juice.” (I left out the miso, but would have added it if I had it.)

Add about half of the sauce to your pasta. I saved the other half of the sauce for another day when I am in a rush.

Now I didn’t feel so guilty about serving this with some fresh broccoli and a salad. Phew, conscious cleared.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

